Pantry Essentials

After a few months of tinkering in the kitchen, I’ve come to see a pattern in Chinese cooking. Most dishes require the same condiments, so as long as you have the following list in your pantry, you can conquer most dishes:

  • Cooking oil
  • Salt
  • Granulated white sugar
  • Oyster sauce
  • Fish sauce
  • Light soy sauce
  • Dark soy sauce
  • Sesame oil
  • Corn starch
  • Cooking wine

I like that I can reuse the condiments for almost all dishes, it is certainly more convenient than Western dishes that require unique spices like oregano or basil. Maybe if I cooked more Western dishes I might feel the same way about the spices, but as I am outnumbered in my household with regards to affection for non Asian dishes, I have to stick to my sesame oil for most part. 😦

Leave a Reply

