Honey pork slices (2?)

This is a continuation of my butadon experience. It is a continuation because I used the leftover pork slices to make this dish! I wanted to clear the fridge as soon as possible, so I was all up for improvised cooking.

Just One Cookbook (wonderful site with easy Japanese recipes!) has a recipe for honey pork belly, so I thought I should just modify the recipe for my pork slices. The key ingredient was the seasoning, and luckily I had everything I needed!

The seasoning reproduced below:

  • 2 tablespoons honey (did not have normal honey, so I used manuka honey instead LOL)
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon oyster sauce
  • 2 garlic gloves (minced)

Similar to my butadon steps, I fried the slices in a pan for about 10 seconds on each side until the meat had little pink left, then I sat aside. After cleaning the pan, I poured the seasoning in, and then tossed the almost cooked meat into the pan. During the process of coating the meat with the seasoning, the remaining pink bits would be cooked as well.

Served in a plate, sprinkled some roasted white sesame seeds on top, just because I have roasted white sesame seeds in my pantry.

Stray observations:

  • A thought my dad cooked the dish, and that I was just reheating it for dinner?! What does that mean? Is he implying that the dish was too delicious to be cooked by me?! I will never know.
Leave a Reply

