Trio/Duo Egg Spinach: Trial 1

This is normally found in Chinese restaurants, the Chinese name is 金银蛋上汤菠菜. Prior to trying this out I always thought 3 types of eggs were required, namely regular, salted and century, but after cooking once I’m inclined to think the regular chicken egg is not required in the recipe. Anyway, this is A’s favourite dish to order, so I always planned to attempt this dish in due time.

As much as possible I followed the recipe found in this hilarious video. The guy narrates in Cantonese and his videos are often interlaced with social commentaries or his thoughts on random things. The annoying thing though is that he doesn’t have a written ingredients and directions list, so I have to memorise all the steps.

We bought century eggs and salted duck eggs a while back, I didn’t look at them carefully until today. When I opened up the packaging I realised one of the eggs was coated in ORANGE STUFF, and the other was coated in BLACK STUFF! I panicked and shouted to A, “I don’t know how to handle the eggs!” and ran to my laptop to Google for help.

I found the following links that explained how to clean them:

How To Prepare A Century Egg “Pei Dan”
How To Clean Salted Duck Egg

The century egg was harder to clean and I ended up getting stuff under my nails 😦 Had to enlist A’s help too, and he was very efficient with them! After all the eggs were cleaned, I picked up the one that was originally coated in orange stuff thinking it was the salted egg (because salted egg = orange = coated in orange and century egg = black = coated in black, makes sense right?!) and I tried to crack it over a bowl, but a black century egg plopped out instead! *inserts horrified face*

Well. This has been an interesting learning experience for me.

Eventually I got all the ingredients sorted out. In the original video, the chef included boiled radish as he wanted to “prop” the spinach up, but I skipped that portion. Also, I added wolfberries into the broth so it would be sweeter. A was my taster as I have zero confidence with my taste buds, and he greenlit it.

The remaining task was cooking the vegetables and the eggs. As I (still) do not have a wok, I relied on the MIL’s trusty pan and managed to complete the process. The eggs didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked though, in the original video the chef did not include regular eggs, but I decided to add in a beaten egg and the solidified whites turned out very yellow and chunky! I realised I can only do either of the following:

  1. Century egg + raw salted egg
  2. Century egg + hard boiled salted egg + beaten regular egg

Else there would be too much egg white in the broth!

The dish itself was passable, honestly I can’t tell the difference between what I’ve cooked and the restaurant’s version, besides presentation that is. Here’s to another dish under my belt.

Stray observations:

  • Cooking was easy, it was the preparation part that killed me. Or rather, killed the time. Well now that I know how tedious cleaning century eggs and salted eggs is, I’ll know to start prepping earlier.
  • A complained that the vegetables were too long AGAIN.
Leave a Reply

