Bok Choy in Oyster Sauce: Trial 1

The other day I was having dinner with FX and P, when deciding what to order I muttered, “I need to order some veges, haven’t had any today.” FX exclaimed that so much has changed in 10 years, referring to the little known historical fact that I used to hate eating my greens. My dislike for greens during my teenage years was so bad that whenever I dined with FX, she would automatically pick out the greens on my plate and transfer them onto her plate! That is true friendship, right there. (Also that’s why I only pooped once a week in the past)

Fast forward 10 years later, I now feel icky whenever I am conscious of the fact that I haven’t had any vegetables for an extended period of time. I’m not particular about food pyramids but somehow I manage to guilt trip myself into buying a prepacked salad bowl whenever that realisation sets in. What has happened to me?!

Anyway, I had previously cooked vegetables when FX came over for dinner, but for the life of me I cannot remember what I cooked, or how I did it. So let’s clean the slate and call this trial 1.

The recipe is suitable for any kind of greens, but I bought bok choy because bok choy is the most adorable name a vegetable can have! Also I have a general dislike for vege stems, but I like those on the bok choy.

I didn’t have a large enough pot, the best I had was a slightly deep pan with straight sides, so I made do with that. It took some time for the water to get to a rolling boil, so I cooked my cod fillet during that time. When the water was ready, I blanched the greens for about 1.5 minutes because I was afraid it would overcook, then I dunked the stalks into an ice bath before draining and plating.

The sauce was pretty easy to make, but once again I had trouble tasting and everything tasted salty to me. đŸ˜¦ I added some more water to the oyster sauce, but it still tasted the same?! I am still confused.

The garlic oil was slightly trickier, past experiences taught me that overcooked garlic is bitter and gross, so I was wary of burning garlic. Kept the fire on low heat and allowed the garlic to swim in the oil, but because I didn’t do a good job of mincing the garlic into equal pieces, the smaller ones cooked much faster. Luckily it didn’t take long for the rest of the garlic to brown, so I switched off the fire and poured the garlic oil on top of the bok choy.

I liked my rendition of bok choy in oyster sauce, but I think the oyster sauce can be improved upon. I would also like to have a suitable pot to blanch vegetables in – at this rate I think A should just buy me one new set of pots and pans.

Stray observations:

  • A complained that each stalk was too long and hence difficult to eat, he quipped that restaurants would always cut the stalk into half! I disagree, and if you go to the recipe’s link you’ll see that the chef did not cut his bok choy either! However, I notice that my bok choy stalks were significantly longer than those in the pictures?! Why are my bok choy stalks so long?! Is it because I bought them from the organic section?! (not on purpose) I may never know.
  • Transferring the blanched veges from the pot to the ice bath proved to be quite challenging because of the steam and because I didn’t have tongs to do so. I need to buy one or two pairs of tongs. Tongs are not expensive. I can afford tongs.
  • I cooked 3 times this week. I am exhausted!
Leave a Reply

