Pan seared salmon: Trial 1

I bought a piece of salmon fillet from Fairprice about a week back, so it seemed like a good time to try my hands on cooking it. As far as possible I avoid any recipes that require baking because I would like to somewhat master stove cooking before moving on to the oven (also it would mean one extra appliance to clean).

Pan seared salmon requires two components: the salmon fillet, and the pan sauce. For the former, I followed instructions here till the point where both sides of the fillet were cooked. I skipped the sake, and opted to drizzle the pan sauce on top of the plated fillet instead of directly in the pan.

For the pan sauce, I followed a garlic soy sauce recipe found here, which asked for the following:

  1. 2 cloves chopped garlic
  2. 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  3. 1/4 cup water
  4. 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  5. 2 tablespoons brown sugar

As part of my latest mantra to not further choke up the pantry with new items, I replaced the lime with lemon and the brown sugar with granulated (white) sugar. The pan sauce turned out quite well! The lemon taste was a little unsettling, but in a good way. All in all a very good sauce recipe.

Stray observations:

  • I seared the salmon skin side first. After 4 minutes, I flipped it over and found to my horror the skin was completely charred! Luckily it was easily removed, and the meat under the skin was cooked to perfection. So I surmise either the fire was too strong or I should have flipped after 3 minutes instead.
  • I tried to find the most even salmon fillet, but the best I could manage was one with a fat end that tapered off at the other end. The inner meat at the fat end was not cooked evenly as the rest of the fillet, but it was still cooked nonetheless.
  • Had problems with thawing again. Had to do another water bath. Why can’t I get this right?!
  • Most of the angmoh recipes opt for lemon butter sauce. I don’t have dried parsley, so I went with garlic soy sauce instead. I shall try lemon butter sauce one day, maybe with cod fillet.
  • Angmohs seem to like crispy fish? I’ve been watching their salmon videos on YouTube and their fillets always turn out drier and crispier than Asian versions. It seems to me they are overcooking, but what do I know.
Leave a Reply

