The Cheongsam

I collected the cheongsam from Wilson of Max Couture about a week ago. The approximate timeline is as follows:

Week 0: Went to Max Couture, chose fabric and lace. Took measurements. Paid up deposit.
Week 8: First fitting. Bodice was a little loose. Wilson positioned the remaining lace bits to be used on the sheer chest area.
Week 9: Second and final fitting. Paid the balance, carried the dress home.

In total I paid $600 for this knee length cheongsam. I reckon it is a reasonable price, given the excellent workmanship of the dress (although don’t quote me on this, I did not do any price comparison at all). I suppose I can rewear the cheongsam if I maintain my figure, so perhaps I’ll wear it to my sister’s wedding if the time ever comes.

A close up of the details on the dress:

IMG_6259

I finally have a minty coloured dress! I am very pleased with the colour combination. In all honesty though, I am still slightly uncomfortable wearing it because of my ugly neck and wide shoulders. It just feels slightly tpp exposed, and yet I can’t wear a necklace to draw attention away from the ugly frontal area. Why can’t we all be born perfect? 😦

Leave a Reply

