Update on UO

It has been 9 days since I made the UO order, the initial euphoria is gone and frankly things have gone downhill from there.

As explained in the previous post, I had to bypass UO’s shipping restrictions by rerouting my parcel to the vPost warehouse in Portland. Since local shipping is free, I only need to pay the shipping fees imposed by vPost to send from Portland to Singapore. This is the shipping rates posted on the vPost website:

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 11.52.22 AM

I estimated the total shipping cost to be about 40SGD, which would be about the same as direct shipping from UO (30USD) had UO allowed the items to be sent here directly.

To my horror though, I found out that UO sent out the two items as two separate packages, so they arrived at the vPost warehouse individually. I didn’t notice that when I received the first notification from vPost, so I paid up immediately and ended up missing the bundling discount. 😦

In summary, this is the amount I spent for this whole online shopping affair:

  • Dress: 100.37 SGD
  • Shipping for dress: 17.95 SGD
  • Shoes: 97.47 SGD
  • Shipping for shoes: 42.52 SGD

Total cost: 258.31 SGD (!!!)

This was a very expensive lesson on shipping rates and currency exchange rates, I need to lie down for a while.

 

Leave a Reply

