Hair

As some of you may know, my natural hair is frizzy. It wasn’t always like that – I had nice straight hair all the way till I was about 10 or 11, then puberty came and my hair never went straight again.

I lived with very bad hair through secondary and high school. In fact, I had to deal with bad teeth and glasses too. I wasn’t that self-conscious – I believe my fabulously weird personality made up for what I lacked in the looks department – and since money was tight then, I remained that strange dorky girl throughout my teenage years.

After graduating from high school, I found vacation jobs here and there, and was finally able to afford to fix my hair with regular rebonding sessions. I lost the glasses and got contact lenses instead, and my parents generously paid for my dental braces treatment which lasted for about 1.5 years. Finally I wasn’t weird looking again, and in all honesty I prefer my current self to the old dweeb I was.

Sadly, beauty upkeep is an expensive business. A trip to the salon is about $150 and can last me for about 3 to 5 months; contact lenses are $270 for 7 months of use. So on average, I spend about $900 a year just on hair and eyes alone! How did life become so complicated?

Well the reason why I’m writing this is because I’m facing a bit of a conundrum. My last rebonding session was in November 2015. It’s been four months and 3 inches of unruly baby hair has grown out – I am now burdened with the chore of temporarily straightening them out every other day. If I do a session now, it will not last till the w and I will have to arrange for another session again. I also have a hair and make up trial in 2 months’ time and my hair cannot be frizzy during then!

Let me simplify things:

Week 0 (today)
Week 1
Week 2 – Plan A: Rebond 1
Week 3
Week 4
Week 5
Week 6
Week 7 – Plan B: Rebond 1
Week 8
Week 9 – Hair and Make Up Trial
Week 10
Week 11
Week 12 – Plan A: Rebond 2
Week 13
Week 14 – D-Day

So, either I go with Plan A (2 sessions) or Plan B (1 session). Plan A makes me uncomfortable because too much chemicals on the head is never a good thing, plus each trip is a painful 5 hours on the chair. I’m leaning towards Plan B, but that means I have to suffer through another 8 weeks of manual straightening!

Why am I still plagued with hair problems well into my 20s, why God, why me?! 😦

Leave a Reply

