Cheongsam (and shoes)

So I ended up tailoring a cheongsam for myself, and it still seems like such a frivolous thing to do! The gown is already made to measure and for me to keep, I have no idea where I’m going to store it after the w, so another cheongsam really does seem quite excessive. I suppose I can re-wear it to other functions, but the number of cheongsam demanding functions that we are invited to are few and far between, plus I will most probably put on weight and outgrow my cheongsam very soon.

So the attire part of the w is mostly settled, I just need to get a pair of heels that can match both the gown (white) and the cheongsam (blueish). Nude is the safest way to go, although the cheongsam tailor W***** suggested rose gold instead. Though I’m not sure I fully understand what he means by rose gold, because Apple said it was introducing rose gold phones but they turned out looking very pink instead.

This is where I post some pictures of heels I like, but I haven’t found designs to die for yet, so I shall just post ugly designs that I absolutely abhor.


Source

This is the worst trend to hit the fashion world circa 2015-2016. It is not flattering as it makes the foot look wider than it already is, and the ankle strap just cuts the leg off giving the wearer a shorter silhouette. Also it’s ridiculous that they are priced similar to fully covered heels, considering that very little material is used to construct them!


Source

Like, WHY?! Imagine getting a tan line from this pair!

Maybe I’m just not very fashion forward. But I’m fine with that. I’ll stuck to boring peep toes. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll be a little crazy and get shiny peep toes!

I thought I’d share something alarming as well, since we are on the topic of heels. This came up in one of my Google searches:

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 2.49.04 PM

Either I’m crazy, or they are.

Leave a Reply

